The Communist Manifesto calls for the overthrow of capitalism, and the establishment of socialism.

It has four sections.

In the first section, it discusses the historical materialist view of history and the relationship between workers and capitalists. Marx makes the point that the driving force of history is class struggle.

The second section explains the relationship between Communists and other workers. Communists do not stand apart from other workers, but are made up of the most advanced political sections of the working class.

The third section addresses looks at previous utopian socialist theories, and shows how they are different from scientific socialism.

The final section discusses the relationship between the Communist parties, and other parties.

The manifesto also contains a list of reforms

1. Abolition of property in land and application of all rents of land to public purposes.

2. A heavy progressive or graduated income tax.

3. Abolition of all right of inheritance.

4. Confiscation of the property of all emigrants and rebels.

5. Centralization of credit in the hands of the State, by means of a national bank with State capital and an exclusive monopoly.

6. Centralization of the means of communication and transport in the hands of the State.

7. Extension of factories and instruments of production owned by the State; the bringing into cultivation of waste-lands, and the improvement of the soil generally in accordance with a common plan.

8. Equal liability of all to labour. Establishment of industrial armies, especially for agriculture.

9. Combination of agriculture with manufacturing industries; gradual abolition of the distinction between town and country, by a more equal distribution of the population over the country.

10. Free education for all children in public schools. Abolition of children’s factory labour in its present form. Combination of education with industrial production.

Comments are closed.

Post Navigation